FOREST HILLS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL ADVISORY FORUM

Date: November 6, 2024, 7:00 am

Location: Media Center

Minutes

I. Roll call to Establish Quorum

- -Call to order at 7:14
- -We have enough members present for a quorum
- -Established a quorum through roll call

Robert Bogle – not present

TaiQuay Bogle – not present

Sarah Clark – present

Kimberly Eloy – present

Kelly Hickman – present

Kristin Jelonek - present

Wendy Klein – not present

Belinda Marini – present

Maxwell Pierre – present

Tiana Pierre – present

Barbara Rothman – present

Claudia Vargas – not present

Emily Waldmann - present

II. Approve Previous Meeting Notes

- -Marini reviews previous meeting notes, including A+ funds
- -Ms. Eloy motion to approve
- -Ms. Pierre second to approve

III. SESIR Report (Huff)

-No new SESIR

IV. Florida School Recognition Funds A+ Funds

- a. Funding amount-\$82,131
- b. Fringe Benefits District Reserve-\$7,285
- c. Total Funding Amount-\$89,416
- d. School Advisory Council Proposal
- e. School Advisory Council Members Create Ballot
- -Marini reviews points a-e and then opens the floor for public comment
- -clarifies that fringe benefit covers taxes taken out
- -Hanlon shares option for classroom teachers to be in the higher tier on the tiered option
- -Only BCPS employees eligible
- -Criteria overview From October Minutes everyone received copy of minutes approved
 - -Poster: Instructional staff classroom teachers, resource teachers, support staff & admin. Non-Instructional on Staff ESPs (teacher assistants), Clerical (Office, tech, media center), & Facilities. Non-Instructional Staff Not on Org Cafeteria, Nurse (contracted), Campus Monitor, SLP (contracted), Social Worker, School Psychologist, OT/PT, Interim sub, SRO
 - -Mr. Bogle gives comment regarding who to include in addition to instructional and noninstructional
 - café, campus monitors, nurse
 - Ms Clark motions to excludes interim subs based on qualifications. Mrs. Pierre second the motion. All in favor.
 - Qualifications: worked at FHE semester and a day 2023-2024; excludes personal leave; staff members who went on FMLA do qualify and returned for the 2024-2025 school year
 - -OT, social worker, SRO, interim subs not included as they do not qualify
- -Instructional staff totals 45; non-instructional staff totals 31; totals 76
- -first option for ballot: split equally amongst all eligible employees (~1,176.52); roll call completed unanimous approval

Robert Bogle – not present

TaiQuay Bogle – not present

Sarah Clark – Approve

Kimberly Eloy - Approve

Kelly Hickman - Approve

Kristin Jelonek – Approve

Wendy Klein – not present

Belinda Marini – Approve

Maxwell Pierre – Approve

Tiana Pierre – Approve

Barbara Rothman – Approve

Claudia Vargas – Approve

Emily Waldmann - Approve

-second, tiered option being presented – 70% to instructional staff ($^{\$}1,390.91$); 30% to non-instructional staff ($^{\$}865.31$); percentages vetted by SAC members (roll call completed – unanimous approval)

- -third option for ballot: none of the above (roll call completed unanimous approval)
- -leftover funds would go into accountability funds to be controlled by SAC (roll call completed unanimous approval)

Robert Bogle – not present

TaiQuay Bogle – not present

Sarah Clark - Approve

Kimberly Eloy – Approve

Kelly Hickman - Approve

Kristin Jelonek – Approve

Wendy Klein – not present

Belinda Marini – Approve

Maxwell Pierre – Approve

Tiana Pierre – Approve

Barbara Rothman – Approve

Claudia Vargas – Approve

Emily Waldmann - Approve

- -must have a 51% majority to pass; gets kicked back to classroom teachers if noted voted on by Feb. 1
- -Marini reviews next steps for voting
- -roll call completed to vote on finalized ballot (unanimous approval)

Robert Bogle – not present

TaiQuay Bogle – not present

Sarah Clark – Approve

Kimberly Eloy – Approve

Kelly Hickman - Approve

Kristin Jelonek – Approve

Wendy Klein – not present

Belinda Marini – Approve

Maxwell Pierre – Approve

Tiana Pierre – Approve Barbara Rothman – Approve

Claudia Vargas - Approve

Emily Waldmann - Approve

V. Questions And Adjournment Public Comments (non-SAC members have 3 mins)

- -motion to adjourn Clark, second Waldmann
- -meeting adjourned 7:54